Studio Ideas and Inspiration

Diego Stocco

Posted in artists and architects, studio 2a_2009 by Sarah Gelbard on 5 October 2009

Diego Stocco is a “sound designer/composer” born in Italy, but now based out of Los Angeles due to his recognition for his radical sonic experiments that result in a wonderfully new and unique type of music – he records music with sounds from everything from sand to trees, drying racks to burning pianos, and even builds his own instruments to realize new sounds. One of the first videos I found that best introduces his style is his constucted “Experibass”; in his own words:

“Few weeks ago I visited a luthier looking for instruments parts, I had an idea in mind for an instrument I wanted to build. My curiosity was to hear the sound of violin, viola and cello strings amplified through the body of a double bass. I came up with a quadruple-neck experimental “something” that I thought to call Experibass. To play it I used cello and double bass bows, a little device I built with fishing line and hose clamps, a paintbrush, a fork, spoons, a kick drum pedal and a drum stick. I hope you’ll like it!”

I was blown away. If you’re into this stuff as much as I am, let me know if you can find any of his “Epic Textures” CD’s for download on the ‘net, I’d love to get a copy! In the meantime, take a look at Diego Stocco’s website for more AMAZING works!

Originally posted by Matthew

Leave a Reply

